Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt


CMTBC regularly publishes news stories with important information about College programs and processes, including requirements and key dates for RMTs, and general information for the public.

The College of Massage Therapists of British Columbia (CMTBC) is a professional regulatory body that exercises authority delegated by the provincial government through BC’s Health Professions Act. As mandated by the Act, CMTBC regulates the profession of massage therapy in the public interest to ensure that registered massage therapists (RMTs) in BC deliver safe, ethical, and effective treatment.

CMTBC’s regulatory responsibilities include the following:

CMTBC is governed by a Board made up of both RMTs and government-appointed public representatives. There are also seven committees that support CMTBC’s mandate in specific areas.

CMTBC is a member of the BC Health Regulators, a group made up of the 15 regulatory colleges constituted under the Health Professions Act. These colleges meet regularly to share information and work on the development of common practices and standards, with a view to enhancing patient safety and public protection in BC.

Not all provinces in Canada have instituted statutory regulation of massage therapy.  CMTBC coordinates with its fellow massage therapy regulators in Ontario, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland by means of the Federation of Massage Therapy Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FOMTRAC), which provides a platform for discussion of regulatory issues on a national level.


To be innovators and leaders in public-focused health care regulation


Through regulation, we protect the public’s right to safe, ethical, and effective massage therapy

Regulatory Principles

We are:

  • Focused on public safety
  • Proactive and responsive
  • Evidence-informed and effective
  • Ethical, transparent, and accountable
  • Inclusive and respectful
  • Objective, impartial, proportionate, and fair

In this section:

Copyright © 2024 College of Massage Therapists of British Columbia. All Rights Reserved.