Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt



Board Members

CMTBC is governed by a Board that receives its authority from the Health Professions Act. The Board consists of nine individuals: six elected RMTs and three public appointees, all of whom are sworn to uphold the College’s public interest mandate. The Board’s responsibilities include establishing policy, setting strategic goals, and ensuring CMTBC is managed in a way that enables it to carry out the objects specified in the Act.

The Board holds four to five regular meetings per year, and posts minutes of its meetings on CMTBC’s website.

For more information

See Board Meetings & Minutes.


Robin Perry, RMT, Chair

Robin Perry has been a Massage Therapist for more than 14 years, graduating from the West Coast College of Massage Therapy in 2005. He has a keen interest in sports injury massage for athletes, stress management for frontline health care workers, and postural realignment for computer/office workers. During Robin’s first stint on the CMTBC Board, which included being Chair, he increased his knowledge of governance and developed leadership and conflict resolution skills. He would like to continue to use these skills and grow as a productive Board member to assist the profession. His philosophy as a Board member: everyone has a perspective and deserves to be heard.

Jana Konkin, RMT, Vice-Chair

Jana Konkin graduated from the West Coast College of Massage Therapy in 1999 and has been in private practice since then. In 2007, she began teaching at the Vancouver College of Massage Therapy, and received her Provincial Instructor’s Diploma from Vancouver Community College in 2009. Most recently, she was involved in the successful re-accreditation of the school where she was closely involved with curriculum review.

Jana has a strong interest in ensuring the ongoing competency of RMTs, and looks forward to bringing background in education to the Board. She believes that by promoting high standards of practice for RMTs, the College can help ensure safe and effective treatment of the public.

Board Members

Emily Bissonnette, RMT

Emily Bissonnette has been an RMT since 2011. She has a BHSc and a BA in psychology. Emily has been involved in health research, education, and mentoring new RMTs. She believes that while CMTBC policies must protect the public, policies should also consider the struggles of new grads and the frustrations of current RMTs. Emily’s goal on the Board is to help find simple, realistic, and reasonable solutions. She will help the Board make decisions that protect the public, but also work for RMTs.

Kristen Burrows, RMT

Kristen Burrows has been an RMT for 17 years, a clinical practicum supervisor for 14 years, and she has spent 3 years as a classroom instructor at the West Coast College of Massage Therapy. In that time, she has learned that this profession is always evolving, always growing into something better. Kristen wants to be a voice in how the profession moves into the future and wants to use her experience to help create understanding about how registered massage therapists can better protect the public. She intends to bring a fresh perspective on key issues facing the Board and collaborate with the Board in an honest and respectful manner.

Deborah Charrois (Public Representative)

Deborah Charrois holds a Master of Laws from York University and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Alberta. Deborah is the Coordinator of Professional Practice at the British Columbia Nurses’ Union. She specializes in administrative law and labour law, with a focus on professional governance and regulation. In her work with BCNU, Deborah has assisted many nurses with health issues related to return to nursing practice. She has been active in her local union for over 15 years. Deborah is currently a practicing member of the Law Society of British Columbia.

Joti Dhesi (Public Representative)

Joti Dhesi has a degree in marketing from the British Columbia Institute of Technology, and has specialized in digital marketing, leading many innovative national campaigns. In 2004, she sat on the inaugural Board of Directors of the Vancouver International Bhangra Celebration Society. She has also participated in the Sikh Centennial Gala Committee and the Ad Club Committee. In 2012, Joti joined the CORSA Foundation Board, and since 2018, she has been on the Board of the Indian Summer Festival. She was appointed to the CMTBC Board as a public representative in January 2019.

Laura Dunkley, RMT

Laura Dunkley graduated in 2011 from West Coast College of Massage Therapy (New Westminster), and has a solo practice in Vancouver with a focus on persistent musculoskeletal pain and complex pain disorders. She completed a Bachelor of Music at McGill University in 2004, and then worked in the financial services industry prior to becoming an RMT. She has worked with Registered Massage Therapists’ Association of BC and Pain BC, and has served on the Board of Directors for the non-profit Pacific Spirit Triathlon club. Laura is passionate about consumer advocacy in healthcare, and is committed to supporting her RMT colleagues in providing ethical, patient-centred care.

Harman Pandher (Public Representative)

Harman Pandher graduated from the University of British Columbia with a Bachelor of Education and a Bachelor of Arts, and is currently an elementary school teacher with the Surrey School District. Harman’s passion for education and community service led him to become a school trustee with the Burnaby Board of Education for over seven years. He is also a board member of the Punjabi Language Education Association of BC, and was appointed to the CMTBC Board as a public representative in January 2019. 

Copyright © 2021 College of Massage Therapists of British Columbia. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Thentia.