Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt


Candidates for 2023 CMTBC Board Election

In the 2023 CMTBC Board election that will open February 1, 2023, six RMT candidates are running for four Board positions. The positions carry a two-year term, from April 1, 2023 to March 31, 2025. Candidates’ names, photographs, and statements have been posted on the 2023 Board Election page.

As in previous years, the 2023 Board election will be conducted online by Simply Voting Inc., a provider of hosted online elections for regulators and other non-profit organizations. Individual ballots are 100% confidential: CMTBC receives voting results in final tabulated and aggregated form only. Eligible RMTs will receive an email on February 1, 2023 from Simply Voting with voting instructions and a link to the voting website. Ballots must be cast by February 28, 2023.

Board members are the directors of CMTBC, providing policy governance and oversight in support of the College’s public protection mandate. See Board Roles & Responsibilities.

The next two years will be critical ones for CMTBC and for the regulation of massage therapy, and of course for all regulated health professions.

Most if not all RMTs will by now be aware of the new Health Professions and Occupations Act, and the Ministry of Health’s plans for regulatory modernization, which includes a reduction in the number of health regulatory colleges from the present 15 (down from 22 a few years ago) down to six colleges.

Both the planned amalgamations and the changes brought by the new Act will pose significant challenges and opportunities. CMTBC looks forward to undertaking these tasks with an engaged and passionate Board.

The next few years are likely to be exciting, interesting, and challenging years in CMTBC’s history, and will offer members of the Board a unique opportunity to have input into the future of health profession regulation in British Columbia.

Copyright © 2024 College of Massage Therapists of British Columbia. All Rights Reserved.