Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Search in comments
Filter by Custom Post Type

Standard First Aid & CPR-C

RMTs maintain current certification in Standard First Aid (SFA) and CPR-C in accordance with CMTBC’s Bylaws, Section 63.3(1).

The five national certifying organizations named in the Bylaw are:

  • Canadian Red Cross
  • Canadian Ski Patrol
  • Heart and Stroke Foundation
  • Lifesaving Society
  • St. John Ambulance

These organizations offer training nationally in certificate programs that are substantially equivalent and meet published standards in first aid and CPR.

Note: CPR-C includes training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation for adults, children, and infants, and use of an automated external defibrillator (AED).

Current certification in SFA and CPR-C from one of the five national organizations named in CMTBC’s Bylaws ensures RMTs receive effective first aid and resuscitation training that is based on current best practices.

Providing proof of current certification in SFA and CPR-C

RMTs are required to submit proof of current certification in SFA and CPR-C when registering for the first time and renewing registration on the CMTBC Portal. Follow instructions on the Portal for uploading a certificate of completion from a national certifying organization.

Other levels of first aid

RMTs who are required to hold other levels of first aid to meet requirements in their preferred areas of practice may submit alternate certification on the following conditions:

  • The certificate is current,
  • It is issued by one of the five national organizations named in the bylaw: Canadian Red Cross, Canadian Ski Patrol, Heart and Stroke Foundation, Lifesaving Society, and St. John Ambulance, and
  • The issuing organization has provided the RMT with a letter to verify that the level of first aid held by the RMT includes all content in the SFA/CPR-C curriculum.

Five national certifying organizations

RMTs must ensure that on successful completion of the course in which they are enrolled, they will receive a certificate issued by one of the five national organizations listed in the bylaw and on this page. CMTBC is aware that there are many educational institutions, community organizations, and private businesses that offer instruction in SFA/CPR-C. The College requires that the curriculum offered and the certificate issued on completion represents the standard agreed to by the five national first aid organizations named in the bylaw.

Canadian Consensus Guidelines on First Aid and CPR

In 2015, the five national organizations established the Canadian Guidelines Consensus Task Force to review the consensus on science completed by international bodies that study first aid and resuscitation training. In 2016, the Task Force published Canadian Consensus Guidelines on First Aid and CPR (PDF), which describes updated protocols for first aid and resuscitation.

The Canadian Consensus Guidelines reflect current research, collaborative discussion, and updates to previous first aid and CPR standards. Please see the guidelines to learn more about the rationale for updates and changes to first aid and CPR practices.

Copyright © 2018 College of Massage Therapists of British Columbia. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Helsby Drake.